Pacific Coast Amateur Hockey Association 6th Annual Joe Morellato Midget "C" Scholarship Tournament

Philosophy & Format

A. Introduction

The Pacific Coast Amateur Hockey Association annually hosts Scholarship Tournaments in the Midget and Juvenile divisions to promote the ideals of scholastic achievements and sportsmanship combined with participation in Minor Hockey.

The 6th Annual Joe Morellato Midget "C" Scholarship Tournament will be played December 14-16, 2011. This event is being held by Presidents "C" League with games to be hosted by the Minor Hockey Associations comprising the League – Arbutus Club MHA, Burnaby MHA, Burnaby Winter Club MHA, New Westminster MHA, Richmond MHA, Seafair MHA, Vancouver MHA and Vancouver Thunderbird MHA. Participation is open to Midget "C" players on both Contact and Body Checking teams. The games will be played according to Contact rules (non-bodychecking). The emphasis will be on FUN and SAFE hockey.

The tournament is named in honour of Joe Morellato, who served as Chairman and Managing Director of Presidents "C" League from the mid-1970's until 2007 and who was a tireless promoter of "C" hockey during his 40+ years of involvement in amateur hockey. He advocated equal treatment for all players regardless of competitive level and worked behind the scenes to ensure access to the game for less privileged members of the community. His contribution to Minor Hockey was recognized by the PCAHA membership in May, 2007, when they elected him a Life Member of the PCAHA.

B. Player Eligibility and Selection

Players meeting the Tournament's participation criteria are nominated by their regular Midget "C" teams and drafted onto three tournament teams: Team Sockeye, Team Tyee and Team Steelhead. Eligibility criteria is as follows:

- 1) 17 years old as of December 31, 2011 (born in 1994)
- 2) Registered with a Midget "C" team within Presidents "C" League
- 3) Any player who has incurred a Match Penalty or Gross Misconduct during the current season or who has incurred excessive penalty minutes will not be eligible for selection

C. <u>Team Official Selection</u>

Coaches and other team officials for the three Tournament teams are selected by the Tournament Steering Committee on the basis of their philosophy of the game, past coaching record and personality. No coach or other team official who has incurred a Game Misconduct, Gross Misconduct or Match Penalty during the current season will be considered, and all coaches are required to hold at least Coach Level/Coach Stream qualification.

D. Tournament Format

The three tournament teams will participate in a single round-robin series. A total of three (3) games will be played.

E. Tournament Awards

- (i) Special Bursaries Six (6) Special Bursary Awards in the amount of \$500.00 each will be awarded. These Special Bursaries have been donated by the Minor Hockey Associations comprising Presidents "C" League. One Special Bursary will be awarded to each of the two players on each team adjudged to have best exemplified excellence and sportsmanship during the course of the Tournament. Special Bursary Awards must be applied by the recipients towards post-secondary study according to the guidelines of the PCAHA Scholarship Program.
- (ii) **Game M.V.P Awards** in each game, the player on each team adjudged to have best exemplified excellence and sportsmanship will receive the Game M.V.P. Award
- (iii) **Participant Recognition** Each player participating in the Tournament will receive recognition in the form of a participation certificate